Testimonials

Have you ever visited our Alafoss Wool store in Iceland or purchased from our online store? We are always eager to hear from our past satisfied guests and customers.

Below you can find some of our recent reviews from our happy customers - You can join them by writing your own review below. Click on the reviews below to read the full reviews at TripAdvisor.

------------

A MUST-VISIT if you are in the area!

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 30, 2014 - Mark469, New York City, USA

"Alafoss wool factory outlet was easily the best shopping experience we had on our entire Iceland trip. The store has been around for a long time, and it's not hard to figure out why! They sell lots of knitted stuff: sweaters, hats, gloves, socks, etc. They sell yarn so that you can knit yourself. They also sell souvenirs and books, and our very best one is a picture of one of Iceland's waterfalls that we bought there. I look at that every day and remember not just the waterfall (which we went to) but the store in which it was bought! The staff is very friendly, and the prices really are better than just about anywhere else in Iceland. They also have a great website (with international shipping) for those things you couldn't buy on your Iceland trip! The store is in the lovely town of Mosfellsbaer, which is very close to Reykjavik, and on the way to the Golden Circle. Don't miss it!"

 

Wool Shop Gem! 

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 10, 2014 - Meagan O - London, Canada

"I'm a frequent visitor of the online store. I've shopped around and Alafoss is the BEST for lopi wool range, colours, prices and service. My orders are always quickly processed and shipped within a day or so. I have quickly become a repeat customer and only hope I'll one day be able to visit in person."

 ------------

Yarn Buying Paradise!

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 30, 2013 - Bambi T - Columbia, Missouri, USA

"........ It was a fantastically fun shopping experience and I can't wait to go back. While I mostly spent time in the yarn section, the shop also had tons of other great Icelandic products. If you are in the area, you must stop in."

------------

Great Sweaters at great prices

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 12, 2014 - Richard M - Virginia, USA

"....You just can't beat their sweaters or service...."

------------

Great online shop

5 of 5 starsReviewed October 30, 2013 - Snoops30 - Hove, UK

"The product I ordered was not in stock but I got a very quick response offering me an alternative which I was happy to take up. This then arrived very quickly and very well packaged. The cost of the item and the shipping costs were very reasonable and the name of the lady who knitted the collar was attached with a label which was a lovely touch. Communication throughout the order process was fantastic and I am sure I will be visitin again, both online and in person!"

------------

Brilliant customer service from Online Shop

5 of 5 starsReviewed December 13, 2013 - Marian F- Brisbane, Australia

"Just wanted to share my incredible experience with ordering some goods from the Online Shop (from Australia)........................I can honestly say I have never had such excellent customer service before from any business! I thoroughly recommend them to anyone else wanting to purchase goods online from Alafoss."

------------

Perfect for knitters

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 19, 2014 - Knotsalot - Edmonton, Canada

"Being a knitter and a fibre snob, coming here was a delight. That's right, I came here for the yarn yet to determined what it wanted to be when it grew up. Beautiful yarn abounds the shop from lace weight to the ideal worsted for not only creating your own sweaters but is also the best for felted slippers. Knowing how much work is involved in hand knitting these intricate sweaters (I'm more a shawl/sock knitter), I was more than happy to buy one here from one of the local crafters. So, if you're a knitter, coming here to see various colours and weights that may not be available in your own LYS is a must. Good thing yarn is squishable for packing!"

------------

Splendid Wool Emporium

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 8, 2014 - Jean B - Uckfield, UK

".....I could have spent hours in there as there was so much to see....."

------------

Classiest of souvenir shops

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 29, 2014 - lizten - Salem, MA, USA

"I usually steer clear of "souvenir" shops when I travel; they' usually offer "general issue" items that are a waste of money. Not this shop. Its wares were beautifully chosen, often hand-crafted items typical of Iceland -- soaps, tiny elves with hand-knitted clothes, beautiful books of postcards, and of course endless sweaters, mittens, hats and a great selection of wool for knitting. My credit card was JUMPING out of my wallet; I had to forcibly restrain it. And I echo the reviews that mentioned the on-line service; friendly, personal emails accompanied my order of more yarn"

------------

Knitter's paradise of Icelandic tradition

5 of 5 starsReviewed February 5, 2014 - YorksClare - Bradford, UK

"The Alafoss shop is also partly a historic attraction and a cafe. Here you can buy hand-knitted lopapeysa (traditional jumpers), socks, hats, scarves, and all manner of other gifts and souvenirs of Iceland. The hand-knitted items have the names of the people who made them on the labels - a lovely touch.

You can also buy the wool and patterns to knit your own, and of course the shop specialises in the local lopi wool in several grades. They have introduced mail order for anyone who has travelled to Iceland and does not have suitcase space to take lots of reasonably priced wool home with them! Look out for first order discounts on online purchases, if they still apply. 

We visited this shop as an unexpected extra on a tour trip, because there was not enough daylight to go straight up to the advertised destinations, and I am so glad to have seen the store in person. There is a bit of a history at the back of the shop about the building the current store occupies, which is interesting. If you are in Iceland, near Reykjavik, and love knitting, this shop is a must-visit spot."

------------

Excellent place to shop for wool sweaters!

5 of 5 starsReviewed December 10, 2013 - EB83Phila - USA

"....It's a great quick stop if you're planning to do the Golden Circle route! ...."

------------

More than wool

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 11, 2013 - VickiN - Boulder, CO, USA

"I agree that Alafoss is a wonderful place to get Lopi wool either in already made garments, blankets, or yarn for your own creation but it is also a wonderful place to find a Viking style knife.....I would recommend having time for shopping and hiking."

------------

The best online store ever

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 28, 2013 - Essi - Finland

"Alafoss' reactions were super fast and I got my order in just one week. .... I haven't ever been this glad with ordering something from the Internet. I'll give over million stars from five for Alafoss and I WILL hereinafter order threads from there."

------------

Fantastic shop and staff

5 of 5 starsReviewed September 22, 2013 - Marie D - Paris, France

".........We would highly recommend the shop and its staff. The shop also sells lots of sweaters and scarves and Icelandic things. And the place is really nice too."

------------

A Unique shopping experience

5 of 5 starsReviewed August 30, 2013 - Sharynnj2013 - Phoenix, AZ, USA

"I have never been impressed with shops that tour buses frequent but was wonderfully surprised with Alafoss. The items were beautifully made but more important, the merchandise was not the typical tourist items. The staff was so very helpful in explaining the culture behind each item I purchased and even more helpful when I came home..........I was able to order online and my purchase came in 10 days. Amazing service and wonderful quality."

------------

I just love this shop!

5 of 5 starsReviewed June 18, 2013 - Airmilesfreak - USA

------------

Could spend a whole day here

"If you knit, want to, or just love sweaters, you will want to go here. The selection of traditional handknits is terrific and priced better than in Reykjavik, by far. And there is all sorts of incredible Lopi yarn, the one thing that was cheaper in Iceland than at home. I should have brought a suitcase just for the yarn I wanted to buy."

5 of 5 starsReviewed May 25, 2013   JSSSeattle - Seattle, USA

------------

Wool Galore!!!

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 29, 2013 - TezzaS - Colorado, USA

"I don't knit, or weave, but loved the Alafoss wool factory. There are so many different things to do with wool, and I think they have them all ............Plan on a lengthy visit if you are into any wool craft."

------------

A Knitter's Paradise

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 15, 2013 - Mel V - Maine, USA

"I've been to Iceland twice now, and a visit there wouldn't be complete without a trip to the Álafoss store. ........... I can't recommend it enough."

------------

Icelandic sweaters, yarn, gifts, and great service!

5 of 5 starsReviewed March 4, 2013 - DownEastWeaver - Portland, Maine, USA

 "...... Alafoss had been on my bucket list for more than 20 years. ........  You won't be disappointed."

------------

If you enjoyed your experience with Alafoss Wool store, we would truly appreciate if you would write a review about your visit. This might help others find us more easilly. Fill out the form below or visit us at http://www.tripadvisor.com/alafoss

If there is something you are not as happy about, contact us here - and we will do our best to make it right!

We hope we will see you again soon and thanks in advance!